A new fortnightly digital magazine about books, lifestyle, fashion, and travel

Issue Two - The Great Escape Issue

Paradise Guest House by Ellen Sussman

Paradise Found

The Paradise Guest House by Ellen Sussman tells the tale of a women who is caught up in the Bali bombings, but returns to the island a year later to gain closure.

Over a decade after the bombings, Bali’s tourist industry it thriving – which is no surprise, given the lush beaches, beautiful scenery and fantastically friendly locals. It’s also the perfect destination if you’re hoping to find yourself – in our next issue we discover why…..

Paradise Guest House_o

 

A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home – perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach.

It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island’s lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali’s infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions.

One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn’t been able to forget his kindness—or the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cozy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she’s ready to open her heart.

Publisher: Canvas
Publication Date:  1st Aug 2013
ISBN: 9781472102256

Genre: Modern & Comtemporary Fiction

Buy Paradise Guest House Here

Sign up to The Look Book here

Recommended